2019 Symposium Program

Trade in 2019

Navigating Tariffs, Technology and Jobs in the Marketplace

Tuesday     February 19, 2019

5:00 pm

Ports Day Reception

Scandal Lounge, Citizen Hotel

Hosted by Port of Hueneme and Port of Los Angeles

Wednesday     February 20, 2019

8:00 am

Registration Opens & Breakfast

Breakfast Sponsored by SSA Marine

9:00 am


  • Kristin Decas, President, California Association of Port Authorities

9:05 am

Morning Keynote Address

  • Senator Jim Beall, District 15, California State Senate

9:30 am

Panel: Tariffs and Trade Wars

This panel will discuss the impacts tariffs and trade wars have on the economy and everyday life, and where we go from here.

  • Moderator: Kurt Nagle, President and CEO, American Association of Port Authorities

  • Bruce Stenslie, President and CEO, Economic Development Collaborative

  • Stephen Cheung, President, World Trade Center Los Angeles

  • Mike Jacob, Vice President & General Counsel, Pacific Merchant Shipping Association

  • Nate Herman, Senior Vice President, Supply Chain, American Apparel and Footwear Association

10:45 am

Networking Break

11:15 am

Panel: Energy Policy and Electrification of the Waterfront

This panel will discuss the current state of technology, from cargo-handling equipment and trucks, to trains and vessels.

  • Moderator: Dr. Eleanor Kirtley, West Coast Program Manager, Green Marine

  • Mary Nichols, Chair, California Air Resources Board (CARB)

  • Drew Bohan, Executive Director, California Energy Commission (CEC)

  • Jeff Wingfield, Director of Environmental and Public Affairs, Port of Stockton

  • Renee Moilanen, Manager of Air Quality Practices, Port of Long Beach

12:30 pm

Keynote Luncheon

Luncheon Sponsored by Port of Stockton

1:00 pm

Luncheon Keynote Address

  • Betty T. Yee, California State Controller

1:30 pm

Afternoon Keynote Address

  • Fiona Ma, California State Treasurer

2:00 pm

Panel: Projects and Partners

This panel will discuss collaboration and successful state project partnerships.

  • Moderator: Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell, District 70, California State Assembly

  • LaDonna DiCamillo, Regional AVP Government Affairs, BNSF Railway Company

  • Jennifer Lucchesi, Executive Officer, California State Lands Commission (CSLC)

  • Job Nelson, Assistant Vice President-External Relations, Port of San Diego

  • Jason Hodge, Commissioner, Port of Hueneme

3:15 pm

Networking Break

3:45 pm

Panel: The State of Freight Transportation: Bricks-and-Mortar Meets Digital Infrastructure on the Waterfront

This panel will discuss how bricks-and-mortar are meeting digital infrastructure on the waterfront.

  • Moderator: Brian Annis, Secretary, California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA)

  • Susan Bransen, Executive Director, California Transportation Commission

  • Fran Inman, Senior Vice President, Majestic Realty Co.

  • Tess Lengyel, Deputy Executive Director of Planning and Policy, Alameda County Transportation Commission

  • Eugene D. Seroka, Executive Director, Port of Los Angeles

5:00 pm

Achievement Awards & Closing Remarks

  • The Honoree of Merit | Jim & Jim Award

    • Presenter: Kristin Decas, President, California Association of Port Authorities

    • Awardee: Senator Jim Beall, District 15, California State Senate

    • Awardee: Assemblymember Jim Frazier, District 11, California State Assembly

  • Gary L. Gregory Lifetime Achievement Award

    • Presenter: Norman Fassler-Katz, Executive Director, CALMITSAC

    • Awardee: Tim Schott, Executive Director, California Association of Port Authorities

5:30 pm